cherries and other good things

When we moved to Virginia we had been rootless for years…we had lived in Illinois (twice) and California before moving here and living in three different houses in our first year. Weary of moving around so much, we settled here and hoped that we could set roots down. While the wind has blown us about and forces both within and outside of ourselves have threatened to uproot and carry us along again…we have remained. After convincing myself at last that we would be in this house for a good couple of years before we find a plot of land, I finally started treating this house like mine. 

Last year I planted asparagus.

This year I have embraced the mulberries and even learned to enjoy the fruit in more ways than just jam…we’ve had a crisp, eaten them in salad, and I have plans to store some in the freezer to see what they might become when we need a little additional fruit come winter.

It feels so nice to be here, fully, in this house…growing into this little yard and the sweet offerings it has. Our little cherry tree has even surprised me with its bountiful fruit this year. What a joy it is to pick fresh fruit in my own yard. Maybe soon I will settle in a little more and buy berry plants…

IMG_9483

About mytangledbranches

I am a mother to two beautiful girls, a wife, and a maker. I believe that life is meant to be shared.

Leave a Reply

