life skills

One of the things that excites me about the idea of schooling at home is that my Ry girl is constantly exposed to this incredibly real life that we are living. She sees us gather and chop wood, she sees her daddy patch the chimney or build a new bed frame if we need one, she sees a deer being skinned, she sees fish being filleted. She sees a whole lot of what goes into the things we enjoy in life like food, heat, and nice warm quilts. She is coming to this age where she wants to try out these life skills for herself. I am learning to say yes a lot more to the random activities she requests to try in a given day…like practicing hammering a nail into wood…because that’s why we stick close to home, right? So she will see all this and want to learn to do it for herself.

About mytangledbranches

I am a mother to two beautiful girls, a wife, and a maker. I believe that life is meant to be shared.

Leave a comment