learning from mistakes

while preparing for my latest show in chattanooga, chatty crafty, i had serious tunnel vision. i was so determined to make a load of jewelry so i could make a load of money and really feel like this was a Business, with a capital B…you know, the REAL kind that makes you money. i spent too much time living and breathing jewelry…i wasn’t even enjoying the process that much because the muscles in my back kept cranking tighter as the days passed by and the number of items i made didn’t increase at the rapid pace i had set.
now that chatty crafty has passed, and my goals weren’t nearly met…i feel a little silly for all the time and energy i had poured into trying a little too hard. the fact is…i do not want to force my jewelry to be a business for me. i want to make jewelry. i want to make lovely things that people can wear and love and cherish. and i want live my life with my little family…my love, my girl, and my dog. i want to be present to the moments i am given. so. my lesson has been learned.
as i work these next few months toward the all too exciting opportunity to sell at Renegade Craft Fair in Chicago(!!), I will be pacing myself and enjoying my summer. I have found a few activities that help me live in the moment, and they are: hanging my laundry on the clothes line then taking it down and folding each piece, taking photographs, pausing, washing the dishes, snuggling, taking walks with my daughter, and hiding upstairs to read books when my house is too busy. what helps you stay present in the moments of life when its easy to think ahead a little too far?

About mytangledbranches

I am a mother to two beautiful girls, a wife, and a maker. I believe that life is meant to be shared.

3 responses to “learning from mistakes

  1. sort “stuff”, nurse the baby, paint with watercolors, listen to music- with the headphones on, use the blender- with earplugs!, shower- with the door locked! 🙂 and yes! to talking walks and reading books!

  2. I understand this feeling all too well, and it paralyzes me. Either that, or I end up writing like crazy (this is my equivalent to your jewelry making) and getting angry at interruptions and still never quite getting where I want to be.

    Thanks for the reminder of the simple pleasures and beautiful bits.

  3. Yes, thanks for the reminder-coming from a mom who feels like time is so short and kids (and granddaughters!) are growing too fast, or are farther away than I’d like. I’d like more time, please!

Leave a Reply

